The Twelve Animals of Tibetan Astrology: The Dragon

Tibetan astrological chart and symbols

In Tibetan astrology, there is a twelve year cycle.  Each of these years is characterized by a different animal and associated with one of the five elements.  Therefore, a full cycle of the twelve animals being associated with each of the five elements takes sixty years.  The twelve animals according to the Yungdrung Bön texts are the Rat, Elephant, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Horse, Snake, Sheep, Garuda, Monkey, Dog and Pig.  Each animal is associated with a specific element for its life-force as well as a specific direction which is determined by the life-force element.  Not only are these twelve animals associated with a particular year, they are also associated with particular months, days and hours.


2012 was the year of the DragonTherefore, people born during this year would be a Dragon and would have an emphasis of the specific qualities associated with Dragon.  (This year corresponds with the Tibetan lunar calendar and began February 22, 2012.)  The element which governs the life-force of the Dragon is Earth and its direction is Southeast.  So, if a Dragon person wanted to strengthen their life-force, they would focus upon strengthening the element of Earth internally and externally.  The positive direction Southeast.  Therefore, facing this direction while meditating, doing healing rituals or just relaxing and taking deep breaths is beneficial.

In general, the Dragon is flamboyant and impulsive.  It has a fiery disposition whose energy and drive seem unending.  Convinced of its superiority of destiny and vision, it wants to live life to its fullest and is often frustrated and impatient with the perceived limitations of others and circumstances.  The Dragon always wants more.  The Dragon has much charisma, wit, and enthusiasm which is admired by others and they are often placed in leadership positions.  The Dragon can also be unrealistic in its demands and become angry to the point of deeply wounding others due to its lack of tact.  However, the Dragon easily forgives, and is sincere and generous in its relationships.  Whatever it is feeling is difficult to conceal.

The Dragon’s soul day is Sunday and its life-force day is Wednesday.  These are the best days for beginning new projects and activities that are meant to increase or develop something.  The obstacle day is Thursday.  This day is best for cleansing and letting things go.  It is not a favorable day for beginning new things.

Dragon years include: 1940, 1952, 1964, 1976, 1988, 2000, 2012, & 2024

Posted on May 17, 2015, in Tibetan Astrology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. An excellent assessment of the various years of Tibetan astrology.
    I’ve always found Tibetan Astrology vague to the point of yawning! 🙂
    Thank you so much

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: